New Hampshire Electrical License: How to Become a Licensed Electrician in New Hampshire
Table of Contents
Other Requirements Unique to New Hampshire
Being an electrician isn’t just a job, it’s a solid career path. Electrical contractors enjoy a wide range of employment opportunities and earn a respectable income. There’s also job security—customers will always need skilled trade professionals to install and service electrical systems in their homes and businesses.
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that there are 711,200 electricians nationwide and 2,820 work in New Hampshire. The national number is predicted to grow 7% from 2021 to 2031, adding more than 50,00 to the ranks. That growth rate is expected to be higher in New Hampshire — with electricians expected to see a 11% increase, according to CareerOneStop, the U.S. Department of Labor’s job search website.
Many contractors nationwide are trying to find skilled tradesmen. According to the Associated General Contractors of America, 2020 AGC-Autodesk Workforce Survey, 60% of firms in the U.S. had unfilled hourly craft positions like plumbers, electricians, and HVAC technicians. So, if you get the training you need you will have a lot of jobs to choose from when you’re ready.
The process of becoming an electrician takes time, but you get paid while you learn and gain experience.
» Want to grow your electrical business? Click here to get a demo.
License Requirements for Electricians in New Hampshire
Is a state license required to be an electrician in New Hampshire? Yes.
To perform electrical work in the state of New Hampshire, you must be a licensed journeyman, master electrician, or high/medium voltage electrician. Apprentice electricians and high/medium voltage trainees also must register with the New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification. The Electricians' Board oversees the requirements for and process of licensing.
Steps to Get an Electrician License in New Hampshire
Hold a valid driver's license.
Pass criminal background check with no disqualifying felony convictions.
Obtain training and experience to qualify for a journeyman electrician license.
Pass the journeyman electrician exam.
Consider becoming licensed as a master electrician or high/medium voltage electrician.
How to Become an Electrician in New Hampshire
GAIN NECESSARY EXPERIENCE: Apprentice electricians must complete four years of field experience under the supervision of a licensed journeyman or master electrician. You also must meet one of the following criteria:
Complete 600 hours of electrical courses, with at least 24 hours on the topic of electrical safety
Hold an associate or higher degree from an electrical program
Work 10 or more years as a licensed journeyman or master electrician in another jurisdiction
BECOME A JOURNEYMAN ELECTRICIAN: To apply for a journeyman electrician license, you must provide documentation of at least 8,000 hours of experience on the job, submit your application, and pay a nonrefundable $50 fee.
The International Code Council (ICC) publishes an electrical trades exam bulletin to help answer common questions and clarify necessary information pertaining to the test. Pearson VUE administers the exam online. The exam questions, based on the National Electric Code (NEC), cover the following topics:
Motors and Generators—17%
Wiring Methods and Materials—13%
Services and Service Equipment—11%
Equipment and Devices—8%
Special Occupancies, Equipment, and Conditions—5%
Branch Circuits and Conductors—5%
You must score 70% or higher to pass your exam. After successful completion of the exam and application approval, you may begin work as a journeyman electrician. Journeyman licenses must be renewed every three years. Renewals are now available online. In addition, you must provide evidence of 15 continuing education units (CEUs).
New license fees vary, depending on the month you apply, but can range from $50 to $150. To renew a journeyman electrician license, you must pay a $150 fee.
BECOME A MASTER ELECTRICIAN: To apply for a master electrician license, you must accomplish 2,000 hours of journeyman field experience, fill out an application, pay a $50 application fee, and pass the master electrician examination. You may use the following resources during the test:
National Electrical Code (NEC)
RSA 319-C (state law for master license, included with application)
American Electricians Handbook
The exam comprises 50 questions regarding design and installation, 50 questions pertaining to the current electrical code, and 25 questions about electrical law. Like the journeyman renewal requirements, a master electrician license may be renewed every three years by filing a renewal application, paying a renewal fee, and showing evidence of fulfilled CEUs.
New license fees vary, depending on the month you apply, but can range from $90 to $270. To renew a master electrician license, you must pay a $270 fee.
BECOME A HIGH/MEDIUM VOLTAGE ELECTRICIAN: To apply for a high/medium voltage electrician license, applicants must submit an application to the Electricians’ Board, provide documentation showing an executed electrical education program, and complete 15 hours of CEUs every three years. Your training must include 14 hours on electrical code changes and one hour of New Hampshire deficiencies. Initial application fee and renewal (every three years) costs $90.
Types of Electrical Licenses in New Hampshire
What are the different types of electrician licensing in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire offers three types of electrical licenses: a journeyman electrician license, a master electrician license, and a high/medium voltage electrician.
Benefits of Becoming a Licensed Electrician in New Hampshire
There are many benefits to getting a New Hampshire electrician license:
Most important, it is required by law in New Hampshire to be licensed through the Electricians’ Board to legally perform electrical work. Properly trained electricians throughout the United States are well-versed in fire prevention measures, as well as electrical distribution systems.
A trade license provides proof of your experience and skill.
Only licensed electricians can: operate a business and advertise services, obtain commercial insurance, pull building permits, pass inspections, and bid on public and government projects.
Securing a license protects your company and your customers.
An electrician license gives you a competitive advantage in the job market.
It also increases your earning potential as an electrician.
What Is the Mean Wage for an Electrician in New Hampshire?
The annual mean wage for electricians in New Hampshire is $58,880 per year according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor and Statistics. That salary, as you might expect, increases as you acquire more experience, according to Indeed.com.
Electrician Apprentice: The average wage for an electrician apprentice is $22.21 per hour in New Hampshire and $6,000 overtime per year.
Electrician: The average wage for an electrician apprentice is $34.91 per hour in New Hampshire and $9,438 overtime per year.
Master Electrician: The average wage for an electrician apprentice is $32.06 per hour in New Hampshire.
Salaries can vary widely, depending on the city and many other important factors, including education, certifications, additional skills, and the number of years you have spent in your profession.
What Business Owners Need to Know
Getting the most out of an electrical technician, no matter where they are in their licensing journey, takes work. ServiceTitan’s cloud-based, all-in-one electrician software gives technicians and business owners the technology they need to do the work efficiently, and the data they need to do it smartly.
SMS communications that keep customers informed about the technician’s visit.
Location-specific service history, including recorded calls, accessible from the mobile app.
Required forms that ensure every job is done right, driving consistency.
The ability to build multi-option proposals with photos, on-site, in minutes.
Sales presentations that make conversations with customers easier and drive average ticket.
Mobile payment acceptance, eliminating lost checks and increasing cash flow.
To learn more, schedule a demo with a product expert today.
How Much Does It Cost to Get an Electrical License in New Hampshire?
Tuition at some New Hampshire community colleges costs about $7,232 per year for in-state students, plus an additional $1,400 for books and study materials.
Apprentice ID card and high/medium voltage trainees pay $30 to become certified. Journeyman applicants pay $150, while master electricians pay $270 for licensure. High/medium voltage electrician licenses cost $90.
The #1 newsletter for the trades.
How Long Does It Take to Get an Electrician License in New Hampshire?
Obtaining a journeyman license in the state of New Hampshire requires a minimum of four years of field experience in an apprenticeship program or equivalent, plus at least 600 hours of classroom-based instruction. Master electricians must have two years of work experience as a licensed journeyman before they are eligible to take the master electrician exam.
New Hampshire Electrician Training Programs and Schools
Many community colleges, trade schools, technical and vocational schools offer the training you need to become an electrical professional in New Hampshire. They're located all over the state, including in bigger cities and smaller communities.
Acquiring a certificate, associate, or similar degree in electrical technology offers numerous benefits. These apprenticeship-type programs provide training on the National Electrical Code (NEC) and qualify you to begin entry-level electrician jobs.
Courses typically taught at electrical school include:
National Electrical Code (NEC)
Advanced Control Systems
Technical College Programs
Manchester Community College (Manchester, NH): The majority of students enroll in two-year programs. Tuition costs about $8,000 per year for in-state students.
Lakes Region Community College (Laconia, NH): Most students participate in a two-year program. Tuition costs roughly $7,000 per year for in-state students.
To apply as an apprentice electrician, you must provide a copy of your high school diploma or equivalent. Apprenticeships require 8,000 hours of practical training and 576 hours of electrical schooling.
Apprentice applicants can choose one of two paths to become an electrician: union or non-union. The New Hampshire Chapter of Associated Builder and Contractors, Inc. connects apprentices with non-union electrical contracting companies. Union apprenticeships require membership in the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW). The New Hampshire Joint Apprentice and Training Committee partners with the IBEW and the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) under the Electrical Training Alliance to match apprentices with union companies.
You apply and renew your apprentice ID card with the New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification Electricians’ Board. Apprentice licenses must be renewed annually. Renewals must be done online and will cost $30.
Who Issues Electrician Licenses in New Hampshire?
Electrician licenses in New Hampshire are issued through the New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification Electrician’s Board (referred to as the New Hampshire Electricians’ Board or NHEB).
Does My New Hampshire Electrical License Work in Any Other State?
In New Hampshire, the electrician's board has active reciprocal agreements for master and journeyman licenses with Maine, Vermont, and Massachusetts. New Hampshire also is a member of the National Electrical Reciprocal Alliance (NERA) and has reciprocal journeyman licensing agreements with Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Montana, Utah, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
Other Requirements Unique to New Hampshire
To keep your New Hampshire state-issued license current you must renew it every two years. Beginning on February 22, 2023, all licenses issued will expire two years from the date of issuance, on the last day of the month in the month the license was issued. If you currently have a NH license, you will receive a renewal notification at 60 days and within 15 days prior to the expiration of your license. You will need to renew online.
National Electrician Certifications
While optional, national certifications can help you demonstrate your proficiency in certain aspects of the electrical trade to potential employers and clients, which often translates into more job opportunities and higher pay.
These include the Independent Electrical Contractors’ Certified Professional Electrician (CPE) distinction, certification through the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), among dozens of additional electrician certifications available.
You can stay up to date on all electrician industry news in several ways: